Shoot rainbows at them!

Standard

I asked my 4 and a half year old what she wanted me to get her for Christmas since she asked Santa for a pink helicopter and a pink electric pencil sharpener and I was pretty sure that he would bring those to her and from there the conversation went pretty much like this:

“Mom, can you get me a super hero costume?”

The voices in my head screamed “SCORE!!!! Easy Present!”

Out of my mouth came “Sure baby, which one?”

“I want to be a rainbow superhero.”  She said.

The voices, “WTF?!?!?!?  Did we miss something?  I really need to monitor what she is watching on tv.  We are horrible parents. (we being me and the voices) Who is Rainbow Super Hero?  Does it shoot rainbows, glitter, and sparkly stuff?……wait, this may not be so bad.”

Out of my mouth, “What does Rainbow Super Hero look like?  Can you show me a picture?”

My brilliant child says in the most condescending voice, “No mom, I made it up.  It is in my head.  I want a rainbow cape.”

The voices, “Oh thank God.  We may not be such bad parents after all……wait, who are we kidding?……and so much for the easy present.”

Out loud, “Oh, ok baby.  I can make you a rainbow cape. What powers does Rainbow Super Hero have?”

“She shoots rainbows at Zeke when he is not being nice to make him nice and she flies around.”

The voices, “HELL YES!!!! Rainbows at my 14-year-old step-son when he is being a jerk.  What a great idea!  My child is brilliant!  No need for kindergarten next year….straight to college for her!  Anyone that has a teenager, knows someone with a teenager, was one a teenager, or has ever met a teenager knows that shooting rainbows at them would be a f*#&ing fantastic idea!!!”

Over the next few days we went to the fabric store and picked out the rainbow cape fabric and I had all intentions of making it and wrapping it up for Christmas morning.  It didn’t happen, but…….well, we all know what the road to hell is paved with and apparently I have a one way ticket there.  I made the cape today. It took a whole 30 minutes and $2.00 worth of fabric and some ribbon that I already had.

Here is a couple of photos of her running around in it.  She loves it.  I am interested to see what happens to her step-brother when he gets back from his visit with his mom……..Maybe Rainbow Super Hero will shoot some rainbows right at him the minute he walks in the door.

photo photo1 photo3

 

Sorry the photos are a bit blurry…..I couldn’t get her to sit still for any photos.  Rainbow Super Heroes are *VERY* busy flying around you know.

3 responses »

So........Tell me what you think